Green Acres – I am here. (10 minute free write )

I have always said the perfect life situation, for me, would be a place in the city and a cottage in the country. It just so happens that I am a very dual type of person. After all these years there is still not very much gray with me. I’m in or I’m out, raging drunk (albeit many years ago) or completely sober, Skinny or fat, ditzy or hyper intelligent. My boyfriend has keenly observed, ” You are total class & no class – how can this be? ”  I laugh because it is so true. I do fart at inappropriate moments, but I try not to – I really do. At other times I just do it because I can.

On April 30th I moved from Chicago, IL to the Adirondacks of New York.  I had lived in Chicago for twenty-two years. Culture, shiny lights, plays, music, restaurants and coffee shops- these are city things that I really miss. Now, I am certainly not saying I took the opportunity to enjoy all that the city had to offer at any given time. I did not. I was in school the last three years of my residence, so, it seemed like there was always an excuse not to do something. This makes me think that I need to live more in the moment. I’ll make note of this.

Just moments ago, the dogs were going ballistic. It was the FedEx guy. What the country lacks in shopping can easily be had on the Internet. Have I mentioned I am about seven miles from the Canadian border? Yep. Montréal is about an hour and a half from here. When I need a dose of the city I simply take the drive.

I am still getting used to the country life. However, there are many cool things: No neighbors to worry about enraging with each step of my high heels on the hardwood floors. No worries about the dogs barking incessantly at nothing.  I can sunbathe in the nude- I’m free! Other things are confounding: The smell of liquefied cow manure -GAG! Driving at night – Can someone show me a streetlight please? Just the other night, lights were zigzagging deep in the woods. It was 10:30 at night. “What the hell is going on- is someone tilling a field at this time of night? I wondered aloud. My boyfriend craned his neck to look at me ” It’s the farm life. You have to do what you can as soon as you can, no matter the time, because the next day the farm has something else already for you to do.” Right now, I think of this metaphorically within the context of YOLO (You Only Live Once).  It makes sense to me. Could The Farmers Almanac be a possible allegory for modern day life? Perhaps- it’s a long shot. However, regardless of where I live I think I will attempt to embrace the “Farm Life”.  I like their attitude.

The moment is now, but I really need a nap.

YOLO!

Ready, Set, Done!

Leave a Reply

